Mailboat Records

Boz Scaggs (Vinyl)

From his formative years as a musician growing up in Texas in the days of early rock and roll, R&B, the blues and folk, Scaggs was steeped in the music coming out of New Orleans, Memphis, Chicago and from down the road, Dallas. He made his way as a journeyman in the small combo tradition as a rhythm and bass guitar player and sometime singer in Madison and Austin before landing in London, England in 1965 with a group from Texas. He went on to travel in the "dharma bum" tradition, playing in small clubs and sitting in "wherever I found myself" for the next couple of years, making his first record and establishing a home base in Stockholm.

After an overland trip through Eastern Europe and on to India and Nepal in 1967, Scaggs headed to San Francisco for a gig with the Steve Miller Band that was to last a year and include that band's first two albums. Next came a solo record, titled simply Boz Scaggs, which was made with the legendary Mussel Shoals rhythm section and featured the great Duane Allman.

Later, Scaggs returned to San Francisco to play the club circuit in the Bay Area. This led to a signing with Columbia Records that lasted some 20 years and produced nine records, notably the mid-seventies Slow Dancer and Silk Degrees, and then Middle Man in the 80's.

After a ten-year hiatus, Scaggs recorded four albums including the Grammy-nominated Come On Home, a blues and R&B collection that honored his musical roots, and the critically-acclaimed 2001 release, Dig which was, in his own words, "the best work of my life in music."

The current release, But Beautiful, sets another career standard. These are the vocals of an accomplished musician who has honed his craft over time and knows how to deliver a lyric; this is a voice enriched by time.

Grid List

Set Descending Direction

3 Item(s)

  1. Greatest Hits Live

    In Spring of 2004, Boz performed two nights at the Great American Music Hall in San Francisco. Boz recorded this great event and now we are able to release all of his greatest hits on three specially priced records. This 3 record set contains full versions of the below 16 tracks.

    Speaking of the performance Scaggs says: "It's not every night nor just any band that can pull off this song list," From the jazz tinged "Harbor Lights" to the desperately blue "Loan Me A Dime," this line up hits the highs, the lows and everything in between to provide a stunning backdrop to the artist and his most recognized work.

    Boz's extraordinary band features the following musicians: Bass: Matt Bissonette; Drums: John Ferraro; Guitar: Drew Zingg; Organ: Jim Cox; Piano: Michael Bluestein; Saxophone: Charles McNeal; Trumpet: Rich Armstrong; Vocals: Monet Owens and Barbara Wilson.

    1. Lowdown
    2. Slow Dancer
    3. Heart of Mine
    4. It All Went Down The Drain
    5. Harbor Lights
    6. Jojo
    7. Just Ask Me 'Bout Nothin' But The Blues
    8. Breakdown Dead Ahead
    9. Look What You've Done To Me
    10. I Just Go
    11. Georgia
    12. Miss Sun
    13. Lido Shuffle
    14. Runnin' Blues
    15. Loan Me A Dime
    16. We're All Alone
    Learn More
  2. Dig

    Dig, originally released in 2001 on Virgin Records, is now available on Gray Cat Records. The critically-acclaimed album features contributions by Roy Hargrove (D'Angelo) on trumpet, Ray Parker Jr. and Steve Lukather on guitars, Nathan East on bass and Greg Phillinganes on keyboards.

    Dig, in sum, is an album that both reaches back to the essential elements of Boz Scaggs' artistry as it points the way to a fresh installment in a lifetime dedicated to music. The result is ten original tracks that together comprise the artist's most assured and accessible collection since his 1976 landmark Silk Degrees.

    1. Payday
    2. Sarah
    3. Miss Riddle
    4. I Just Go
    5. Desire
    6. Call That Love
    7. King Of El Paso
    8. You're Not
    9. Vanishing Point
    10. Thanks to You

    Co-produced by Boz Scaggs, David Paich (Member of Toto and collaborator on Silk Degrees) and Danny Kortchmar (guitarist for Don Henley and James Taylor)

    Learn More
  3. But Beautiful

    But Beautiful is a standards collection of uncommon elegance and integrity. Performed with a jazz quartet, this release is an assured, logical next step in an enduring musical career, and signals the arrival of an important new voice in the domain of the great American songbook.

    1. What's New
    2. Never Let Me Go
    3. How Long Has This Been Going On?
    4. Sophisticated Lady
    5. But Beautiful
    6. Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered
    7. Easy Living
    8. I Should Care
    9. You Don't Know What Love Is
    10. For All We Know
    Learn More

Grid List

Set Descending Direction

3 Item(s)