Mailboat Records

Mac McAnally - AKA Nobody

More Views

Mac McAnally - AKA Nobody

Availability: In stock

A.K.A Nobody is McAnally's latest solo album, sung, performed and produced by the much beloved session ace. All but one of its songs were written by McAnally, either on his own or with illustrious co-writers including Jimmy Buffett, Kenny Chesney, Zac Brown, Sonny Landreth, Chris Stapleton, Al Anderson, and others.

Working with an all-star assembly of friends and studio colleagues, McAnally achieves a rare blend of deep soul and polished technique on each track. His expressive range is on full display -- swampy blues on "Place Where You Belong," some exotic Parisian-style swing on "Zanzibar," a saucy Cajun swagger on "Loser Gumbo" with McAnally rocking the piano as Sonny Landreth wails on slide guitar, complex but catchy pop reminiscent of Steely Dan's best on "Someday," straight-ahead, steel-sweetened country with Southern rock seasoning on "Coast of Carolina."

The ironic title notwithstanding, the music of A.K.A. Nobody speaks to everybody. This is music for all who love the marriage of art, craft and passion that Mac McAnally -- and few others -- have achieved.



1. A Little Bit Better
2. Last But Not Least
3. Mississippi, You're On My Mind
4. With A Straight Face
5. Don't Remember Leaving
6. Zanzibar
7. Place Where You Belong
8. Proud To Be Alive
9. Better Get The Story Straight
10. Everything (Ain't Too High a Price)
11. Loser Gumbo
12. Coast of Carolina
13. Someday
14. Island Rain
15. Working Prayer